Boxer disqualified over sickening cheap shot KO

British boxer Louis Adolphe has caused a huge controversy with a disgraceful cheap shot that left his opponent seeing stars.

The welterweight was disqualified during the first round of his fight with Nathan McIntosh at the Wembley Arena on Sunday.

As the first round was coming to a close, the two combatants were locked in a tangle and referee Howard Foster clearly called for them to break.

McIntosh moved away and momentarily let his guard down, before Adolphe hit him with a devastating right hook that sent him crashing to the canvas.

Adolphe thought his shot was fair. Image: Getty

Adolphe immediately started celebrating as McIntosh lay motionless on the canvas, but referee Foster wasn't having any of it, waving Adolphe away before informing him he'd been disqualified.

The knockout blow was deemed illegal as it came after Foster had called 'break' and before he had told the boxers to resume.

McIntosh was declared the winner. Image: Getty

The controversial moment was reminiscent of Anthony Mundine's cheap shot on Danny Green earlier this year.

On that occasion Mundine was docked points but not disqualified, despite many believing he should have been.

Elsewhere, Jermell Charlo claimed bragging rights in the 154-pound division with a stunning first-round knockout of challenger Erickson Lubin to retain his World Boxing Council title.

Charlo floored Lubin with a powerful short right hand at 2:41 of the round to win the matchup of unbeaten fighters at the Barclays Center arena in New York.

Charlo, 27, improved to 30-0 with 15 knockouts with the second defence of his super welterweight title.

with agencies