NZ Electorate Mana

Yahoo! New Zealand October 21, 2011, 5:56 pm

Maori electorate

Te Tai Hauauru

Electorate snapshot

The Mana electorate is based around the communities of Porirua City, Titahi Bay, Whitby, Mana, Plimmerton, Pukerua Bay, Paekakariki, and Raumati. Boundary changes in 2007 saw parts of Paraparaumu also included.

Electorate snapshot

Among the general electorates, Mana has the fourth-highest proportion of Pacific Peoples (20.8 per cent), triple the national average (6.9 per cent). Almost one in five Pacific people in this electorate were born overseas but have resided in New Zealand for 20 years or more.

Election Results

The winning candidate in the 2008 election was Winnie Laban from the Labour Party. Laban also won the seat in 2005.

Candidates standing this election

Kris Faafoi - Labour Party
Richard Goode - Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party
Jan Logie - Green Party
Hekia Parata - National Party
Michael Warren - ACT New Zealand

Polling booths

Aotea - Summerset Aotea Village, 15 Aotea Drive

Ascot Park - Rangikura School, 95 Conclusion Street

Cannons Creek - Cannons Creek School, 5 Warspite Avenue, Glenview School, 106 Bedford Street, Maraeroa School, 47 Driver Crescent, Russell School, 18 Fantame Street
Elsdon - Porirua School, 1 Awarua Street

Kenepuru - Kenepuru Community Hospital, Hospital Drive (off Raiha Street)

Linden - Greenacres School, 60 Raroa Terrace, Linden School, 60 Ranui Terrace, Linden Social Centre, 10 Linden Avenue, Tui Park Kindergarten, 12b Mexted Terrace

Mana - St Barnabas' Church Hall, 106a Mana Esplanade

Paekakariki - Paekakariki School, Wellington Road, St Peters Village Hall, corner Beach Road & Ames Street

Papakowhai - Papakowhai School, 17 Spey Place

Paraparaumu - Kapiti Primary School, corner Kapiti & Rimu Roads, Paraparaumu School, Ruapehu Street

Paremata - Paremata School, 35 Paremata Crescent

Pauatahanui - Pauatahanui School, 12 Paekakariki Hill Road

Plimmerton - Plimmerton School, School Road, St Theresa's School, 5 James Street

Porirua - 5 Lydney Place South (North City Plaza side entrance), Whitireia Community Polytechnic, Block E, 2 Wineera Drive

Porirua East - Porirua East School, 8 Martin Street, Windley School, 146 Mungavin Avenue
Pukerua Bay - Pukerua Bay School, 89 Rawhiti Road

Raumati Beach - Raumati Beach School, Raumati Road

Raumati South - Raumati South Returned Services War Memorial Hall, Tennis Court Road (opposite No 25), Raumati South School, Matai Road

Tawa - Hampton Hill School, Victory Crescent, New Life Church Hall, 236 Main Road, Tawa School, 6 Oxford Street

Titahi Bay - Garage, 99 Gloaming Hill, Ngati Toa School, 44 Piko Street, Niblick Hall, 1 Niblick Lane, Titahi Bay Intermediate School, Kahutea Terrace, Titahi Bay North School, 47 Jillett Street, Titahi Bay School, 11 Kura Street

Waitangirua - Corinna School, 36 Kalingo Street, Natone Park School, 6 Kokiri Crescent, Te Kura Māori o Porirua, 392 Warspite Avenue

Wellington City - Capital E, Civic Square, Chaffers Dock Atrium, 18 Herd Street, Michael Fowler Centre, Renouf Foyer, Level 1, 111 Wakefield Street

Whitby - Civic Centre, The Bradey Room, Discovery Drive, Discovery School, Pullen Lane, Postgate School, 3 Staithes Drive North, The Anchor Church, 1 Joseph Banks Drive

For more info on this NZ electorate profile click here

Key Election Dates

  • March 10

    March 10

    Prime Minister announces dates for 2014 general election

  • June 20

    June 20

    Regulated period for election advertising expenses begins

  • June 23

    June 23

    Launch of enrolment campaign

  • August 14

    August 14

    Dissolution of Parliament

  • August 20

    August 20

    Writ Day
    Governor General issues formal direction to the Electoral Commission to hold the election.

  • August 21

    August 21

    Nominations open
    Advertising calling for individual nominations of electorate candidates

  • August 25

    August 25

    Bulk Nominations
    Deadline for registered political parties to bulk nominate their electorate candidates to the Electoral Commission.

  • August 26

    August 26

    Nominations close
    Deadline for political parties to submit list candidates to the Electoral Commission.
    Deadline for individual nominations of electorate candidates to Returning Officers.

  • September 3

    September 3

    Advance and Overseas Voting starts

  • September 19

    September 19

    Advance Voting ends
    Last day to enrol for the election.

  • September 20

    September 20

    Election Day
    Polling places open from 9.00am to 7.00pm
    Election Night
    Preliminary results released progressively from 7.00pm on

  • October 4

    October 4

    Official results for general election declared
    (including special declaration votes)


Yahoo7 News Preferences


Select your state to see news for your area.