New Chair and members for ACC Board

Fuseworks Ltd.

ACC Minister Judith Collins today announced a new Chair and new

members for the ACC Board, reflecting the Government’s

priorities for the highest standards of best practice and service,

and rebuilding the public’s trust and confidence in the


"My appointments today underline the Government’s commitment

to genuine culture change, and will lead to a more balanced and

comprehensive approach to the governance and operation of ACC.

"I am pleased to announce the interim Chair Paula Rebstock has been

appointed to the position of Chair. Paula has served the Board well

in an acting capacity throughout a challenging time for the

corporation. She has demonstrated a commitment to culture change at

ACC and will bring important continuity to the role on top of her

broad experience in corporate governance and regulation," Ms

Collins says.

The new Board members are Deputy Chair Trevor Janes, Professor Des

Gorman and Kristy McDonald QC - all appointed for three year terms.

A fourth new Board member has been identified, to commence in early

2013, bringing the Board up to its full membership of eight. The

appointment will be announced later this year, giving the person

time to fulfil prior business commitments. The new appointees join

existing Board members Jill Spooner, John Meehan and Jane Huria.

"The Government’s priorities for ACC also include maintaining

a focus on levy stability and financial sustainability, providing

high quality services for claimants and clients, and ensuring the

early resolution of disputes.

"Building on the strength of the existing Board members, the

wide-ranging skills and experience of these appointees reflect our

priorities. We now have a strong Board to lead ACC as it embarks on

a new era of service for all New Zealanders," Ms Collins says.


Paula Rebstock is currently Chair of the Work and Income Board,

Deputy Chair of the New Zealand Railways Corporation, Chair of the

Insurance and Savings Ombudsman Commission and an existing member

of the Accident Compensation Corporation Board. Ms Rebstock was

previously the Chair of the Commerce Commission and has expertise

in governance, economic regulation, and labour market policy. She

has been on the ACC Board since April 2011.

Trevor Janes is an experienced director and chairman and has been

employed in a number of senior management roles. He is currently

Chair of the Public Trust and is self employed as a financial

adviser and consultant in the public sector and private sector

including in the areas of banking, equity markets and debt

financing. Mr Janes has been a specialist advisor to the ACC Board

investment subcommittee since 2003.

Professor Des Gorman is Head of Auckland School of Medicine and

Associate Dean, and has doctorates in medicine and in philosophy.

He has extensive medical knowledge across a number of specialties

(including brain injury, occupational medicine, and toxicology).

Affiliated to Ngapuhi, Professor Gorman is also Executive Chairman

of Health Workforce NZ, and a member of the National Health Board.

Kristy McDonald QC has practised in criminal, public and

constitutional, and administrative law during her distinguished

career. Ms McDonald has served as Chairperson of the Mental Health

Review Tribunal for ten years, and has acted as Legal Assessor to

the NZ Medical Council, Dentists’ Disciplinary Tribunal,

Psychologists’ Board, and the NZ Nursing Council. She served

on the NZ Law Society’s Ethics Committee for nine years,

including as Chair and is a current member of Lawyers Engaged in

Alternative Dispute Resolution.