2024 Disney Legends include “Hannah Montana” star Miley Cyrus, Harrison Ford, Angela Bassett, and more

"Haunted Mansion" actress Jamie Lee Curtis and "Avatar" filmmaker James Cameron are also among those set to be honored at D23.

The House of Mouse is getting the best of both worlds when it comes to honoring its 2024 Disney Legends and the projects they've contributed to the company throughout its storied history.

Ahead of its annual ceremony at the D23 fan event later this year, Disney on Tuesday unveiled its roster of 14 new Disney Legends set to receive recognition for their work, including Disney Channel breakout and former Hannah Montana actress Miley Cyrus; Indiana Jones and Star Wars star Harrison Ford; and Angela Bassett, who became the first performer to receive an Oscar nomination for a Marvel movie for her supporting turn in 2022's Black Panther: Wakanda Forever.

Other creatives included in the hall-of-fame-style awards presentation include Haunted Mansion and Freaky Friday actress Jamie Lee Curtis; Avatar filmmaker James Cameron; Broadcast News director James L. Brooks; Muppets performer Frank Oz; ABC talk show personality Kelly Ripa; Oscar-winning Alice in Wonderland costume designer Colleen Atwood; Martha Blanding, described by Disney as "the first permanent full-time Black tour guide" at Disneyland; comics artist Steve Ditko; Walt Disney Animation Studios animator Mark Henn (The Little Mermaid, The Lion King, Mulan); Imagineer and Animal Kingdom head designer Joe Rohde; and Star Wars and Indiana Jones composer John Williams.

<p>Bob D'Amico/Disney/Courtesy everett collection; Sunset Boulevard/Corbis via Getty; Marvel/Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures/Courtesy Everett Collection</p> Miley Cyrus, Harrison Ford, and Angela Bassett

Bob D'Amico/Disney/Courtesy everett collection; Sunset Boulevard/Corbis via Getty; Marvel/Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures/Courtesy Everett Collection

Miley Cyrus, Harrison Ford, and Angela Bassett

"To be named a Disney Legend is the highest honor our company can bestow on anyone, reserved for those whose talent and achievement have earned them an enduring place in our history," Disney CEO Bob Iger said in a statement. "The fourteen individuals to be honored as Disney Legends this year have each made extraordinary creative contributions across the worlds of Disney and we look forward to celebrating them at D23: The Ultimate Disney Fan Event."

Considered one of the most prestigious accolades Disney confers, Legend status is given to "artists and visionaries throughout the company's history who have pushed the envelope of creativity, challenged conventional wisdom, and broken the restraints of the status quo in search of new possibilities and excellence," according to a press release.

Past honorees include Robert Downey Jr., Christina Aguilera, Dick Van Dyke, Howard Ashman, Alan Menken, Elton John, Robin Williams, Whoopi Goldberg, George Lucas, and Oprah Winfrey.

This year's D23 begins Friday, Aug. 9, in Anaheim, Calif., with the fan event concluding Sunday, Aug. 11, with the official Disney Legends Awards Ceremony, set to be emceed by Ripa's former Live cohost Ryan Seacrest.

Sign up for Entertainment Weekly's free daily newsletter to get breaking TV news, exclusive first looks, recaps, reviews, interviews with your favorite stars, and more.

Related content:

Read the original article on Entertainment Weekly.