From Cher to Ozzy Osbourne and Mary J. Blige, Meet the 2024 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Inductees

The inductees were announced during the Sunday episode of 'American Idol' where the Top 14 performed their songs

<p>Getty(3)</p>  Ozzy Osbourne; Mary J. Blige; Cher


Ozzy Osbourne; Mary J. Blige; Cher

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame class of 2024 is finally here!

During the Sunday, April 21 episode of American Idol, host Ryan Seacrest and judge Lionel Richie announced the list of inductees — and it includes several musical legends.

In the performer category, Mary J. Blige, Cher, Dave Matthews Band, Foreigner, Peter Frampton, Kool & the Gang, Ozzy Osbourne and A Tribe Called Quest will be inducted.

The late Alexis Korner, John Mayall and the late Big Mama Thornton will receive the musical influence award, while the late Jimmy Buffett, MC5, Dionne Warwick and the late Norman Whitfield will receive the musical excellence award. Suzanne de Passe will receive the Ahmet Ertegun award.

Related: Mark Ronson Shares Paul McCartney's Explicit Reaction to Learning Foreigner Isn't in Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

The 2024 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony will air live on Oct. 19 at the Rocket Mortgage Fieldhouse in Cleveland, Ohio.

"Rock & Roll is an ever-evolving amalgam of sounds that impacts culture and moves generations," John Sykes, the Chairman of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation said in a press release. "The diverse group of inductees each broke down musical barriers and influenced countless artists that followed in their footsteps."

<p>Getty(2)</p> Dave Matthews Band; Foreigner


Dave Matthews Band; Foreigner

This year's nominees also included Mariah Carey, Eric B. & Rakim, Jane’s Addiction, Lenny Kravitz, OasisSinead O’Connor and Sade.

Ten of the 15 nominees appeared on the ballot for the first time this year, including Carey, Cher, Kravitz, Osbourne, Sade and the late O’Connor.

In order to be eligible for a nomination, the artist must have released their first commercial recording 25 or more years ago, or by 1999, per the foundation.

Related: Why Katy Perry Wants Jelly Roll to Replace Her on 'American Idol': 'He Could Sell Me Anything'

Last year, 13 artists made the inductees list. Among them was George Michael posthumously, Chaka KhanMissy Elliott, Kate Bush and Sheryl Crow.

For the second year, the 2024 ceremony will stream live on Disney+, air as a special on ABC at a later date and be available to stream on Hulu the day after the telecast.

To celebrate the exciting news, the Top 14 contestants performed songs by the inductees before America voted for the Top 12.

For more People news, make sure to sign up for our newsletter!

Read the original article on People.