Yahoo Life Shopping
Why you can trust us

We independently evaluate the products we review. When you buy via links on our site, we may receive compensation. Read more about how we vet products and deals.

How to buy Taylor Swift's brand new album, 'The Tortured Poets Department'

The megastar's latest music is available via all major streamers, and you can order the vinyl or CD at Target and Amazon.

How to buy Taylor Swift's brand new album, 'The Tortured Poets Department'

It's a huge week for Swifties. Not only did Taylor Swift unexpectedly show up at Coachella with her boyfriend, Travis Kelce, last weekend, but her brand new album, The Tortured Poets Department, is out now. Fans were told the album would have 16 songs with various bonus tracks, but — surprise! — Swift has revealed that an additional 15 songs are available on The Tortured Poets Department: The Anthology.

Quick overview

The secret double album marks Swift's 11th studio release (not including her four re-recorded albums), and fans have been eagerly awaiting the drop since she first announced Tortured Poets during the 2024 Grammys in February. Well, we don't have to wait any longer: Tourtured Poets is here. Are you ready for it?

How to listen to Taylor Swift's new album

Swift's new album is available on all major streaming platforms, including Spotify, Apple Music and Amazon Music. You can order or add the album right now.

How to buy 'The Tortured Poets Department' on vinyl

If you prefer to listen on your trusty turntable, you can order a vinyl of Tortured Poets at Target for $40. Exclusive CDs are available for $14.

Head to Target ASAP to order the exclusive "Phantom Clear" vinyl discs. This vinyl includes a bonus track, "The Manuscript."

$40 at Target

This Target-exclusive CD includes another bonus track, "The Bolter."

You can also shop two other Target-exclusive CDs to bring home bonus tracks "The Albatross" and "The Black Dog."

$14 at Target

Prefer to shop with Amazon? There, you can order the "Ghosted White" vinyl and CD.

This "Ghosted White" vinyl features bonus track "The Manuscript."

$40 at Amazon

This CD also includes "The Manuscript."

$13 at Amazon

You can also buy the vinyls and CDs on Taylor Swift's website. The store also has Tortured Poets merch (sweatshirts, jewelry and more) but, unsurprisingly, most items are already sold out.

Why did Taylor Swift name her new album 'The Tortured Poets Department'?

While Swift hasn't confirmed what the name of her new album means, fans were quick to speculate that the title is a reference to a WhatsApp group named "The Tortured Man Club" that her ex-boyfriend Joe Alwyn admitted to being a part of during a now-viral Variety interview. The group chat reportedly also included actors Paul Mescal and Andrew Scott.

How many songs are on 'The Tortured Poets Department'?

On February 5, Swift shared via Instagram that her new album would feature 16 songs, plus a bonus song called "The Manuscript." Post Malone and Florence + The Machine both have features.

However, on Friday, the night of the album's release, Swift surprised fans by revealing that Tortured Poets is a double album. There are 15 additional songs on The Tortured Poets Department: The Anthology. The complete tracklist:

  1. "Fortnight" featuring Post Malone

  2. "The Tortured Poets Department"

  3. "My Boy Only Breaks His Favorite Toys"

  4. "Down Bad"

  5. "So Long, London"

  6. "But Daddy I Love Him"

  7. "Fresh Out the Slammer"

  8. "Florida!!!!" featuring Florence + The Machine

  9. "Guilty as Sin?"

  10. "Who’s Afraid of Little Old Me?"

  11. "I Can Fix Him (No Really I Can)"

  12. "loml"

  13. "I Can Do It With a Broken Heart"

  14. "The Smallest Man Who Ever Lived"

  15. "The Alchemy"

  16. "Clara Bow"

  17. "The Black Dog"

  18. "imgonnagetyouback"

  19. "The Albatross"

  20. "Chloe or Sam or Sophia or Marcus"

  21. "How Did It End?"

  22. "So High School"

  23. "I Hate It Here"

  24. "thanK you aiMee"

  25. "I Look in People's Windows"

  26. "The Prophecy"

  27. "Cassandra"

  28. "Peter"

  29. "The Bolter"

  30. "Robin"

  31. "The Manuscript"

Taylor Swift new album lyrics that have leaked

Swift is a mastermind at avoiding leaks before release dates, but she shared a few suspected lyrics on social media ahead of the album's debut.

In the same Instagram post that originally announced The Tortured Poets Department, she included an image of papers in a file folder that read: "And so I enter into evidence / My tarnished coat of arms / My muses, acquired like bruises / My talismans and charms / The tick, tick, tick of love bombs / My veins of pitch black ink." Those lines turned out to be from a poem that accompanied the album.

Swift also included several phrases in other Instagram posts that she later used to title five curated Apple Music playlists. These playlists were broken into the five stages of heartbreak (denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance) and contain previous songs that Swift said correlate with each stage. The respective playlist names (and confirmed lyrics from songs on Tortured Poets) are "I Love You, It's Ruining My Life," "You Don't Get to Tell Me About Sad," "Am I Allowed to Cry?" "Old Habits Die Screaming" and "I Can Do It With a Broken Heart."

You can listen to The Tortured Poets Department in its entirety now.

Can't get enough of Taylor Swift? Check out these stories:

Want Taylor Swift's red lipstick? We found her go-to favorites over the years

Taylor Swift just wore these comfy, classic Adidas sneakers, and they're 35% off