Notorious B.I.G., ABBA, Green Day added to the National Recording Registry. See the list

From a misfit reindeer to a dancing queen, the audio selections chosen for entry into the National Recording Registry of The Library of Congress this year span a large swath of the 20th century.

Gene Autry’s 1949 holiday classic, “Rudolph, The Red-Nosed Reindeer,” ABBA’s landmark 1976 release “Arrival,” Blondie’s classic 1978 album “Parallel Lines” and Green Day’s blast of punk-pop, 1994’s “Dookie,” are among 25 new inductees.

The timeless "Dancing Queen," ABBA's 1976 smash, is being inducted into the National Recording Registry.
The timeless "Dancing Queen," ABBA's 1976 smash, is being inducted into the National Recording Registry.

The genre-hopping works start with 1919’s “Clarinet Marmalade” from Lt. James Reese Europe’s 369th U.S. Infantry Band and wind through the The Notorious B.I.G.’s 1994 hip-hop debut, “Ready to Die” and The Chicks’ 1998 smash album, “Wide Open Spaces.”

A dash of comedy joins the musical works as well, with Lily Tomlin’s 1971 comedy album, “This is a Recording.”

More: Green Day to play full 'American Idiot' on tour: 'What was going on in 2004 still resonates'

How are the titles chosen for the National Recording Registry?

This year’s selections bring the number of titles on the registry to 650 – a small portion of the national library’s recorded sound collection of nearly four million items.

While Librarian of Congress Carla Hayden announced the recorded works that will be preserved based on their cultural, historical or aesthetic importance, the public can submit nominations throughout the year on the Library’s website. The final list is decided by the National Recording Preservation Board.

A record 2,899 nominations were made by the public this year for recordings to consider adding to the registry. Nominations for next year will be accepted until Oct. 1 here.

More: Elton John and Bernie Taupin honored by Metallica, Joni Mitchell at Gershwin Prize ceremony

Recordings Selected for the 2024 National Recording Registry (in chronological order)

  • “Clarinet Marmalade” – Lt. James Reese Europe’s 369th U.S. Infantry Band (1919)

  • “Kauhavan Polkka” – Viola Turpeinen and John Rosendahl (1928)

  • Wisconsin Folksong Collection (1937-46)

  • “Rose Room” – Benny Goodman Sextet with Charlie Christian (1939)

  • “Rudolph, the Red-Nosed Reindeer” – Gene Autry (1949)

  • “Tennessee Waltz” – Patti Page (1950)

  • “Rocket ‘88’” – Jackie Brenston and His Delta Cats (1951)

  • “Catch a Falling Star” / ”Magic Moments” – Perry Como (1957)

  • “Chances Are” – Johnny Mathis (1957)

  • “The Sidewinder” – Lee Morgan (1964)

  • “Surrealistic Pillow” – Jefferson Airplane (1967)

  • “Ain’t No Sunshine” – Bill Withers (1971)

  • “This is a Recording” – Lily Tomlin (1971)

  • “J.D. Crowe & the New South” – J.D. Crowe & the New South (1975)

  • “Arrival” – ABBA (1976)

  • “El Cantante” – Héctor Lavoe (1978)

  • “The Cars” – The Cars (1978)

  • “Parallel Lines” – Blondie (1978)

  • “La-Di-Da-Di” – Doug E. Fresh and Slick Rick (MC Ricky D) (1985)

  • “Don’t Worry, Be Happy” – Bobby McFerrin (1988)

  • “Amor Eterno” – Juan Gabriel (1990)

  • “Pieces of Africa” – Kronos Quartet (1992)

  • “Dookie” – Green Day (1994)

  • “Ready to Die” – The Notorious B.I.G. (1994)

  • “Wide Open Spaces” – The Chicks (1998)

This article originally appeared on USA TODAY: National Recording Registry 2024 list ABBA, Green Day, Rudolph