Peabody Awards Announces 2024 Date, Move to Los Angeles After Four Years of Virtual Ceremonies

The Peabody Awards are trying again for Los Angeles. The Peabody org announced Thursday that it will hold its 84th annual ceremony at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel on Sunday, June 9. This reps the Peabody Award’s return to an in-person event for the first time since 2019, and also its first time in L.A. — having previously been held in New York (and virtually over the past four years during the pandemic and Hollywood strikes).

Last year was actually supposed to be the Peabody Awards’ move out west and return to an in-person gathering after COVID-19 forced the show to go virtual in 2020, 2021 and 2022. But the Hollywood strikes then forced the group to do another virtual ceremony in 2023.

More from Variety

Also, as part of the announcement, Peabody revealed that Wonya Lucas has been named as the next chair of the Peabody Awards Board of Jurors. And added to its board of jurors are former Viacom Music Entertainment Group prexy Doug Herzog; New York Women in Film & Television CEO Cynthia López; festival director and film producer Orwa Nyrabia; Strategic Partners & Media founding partner Russ Schriefer; Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist Cynthia Tucker; former CNN Worldwide managing editor, NBC News Washington bureau chief and Newsweek editor Mark Whitaker; and Skywalker Holdings, LLC president Andrea Wishom.

“For the first time in the history of Peabody, we’re thrilled to recognize the most compelling stories of the year at a joyful and inspiring ceremony in Los Angeles,” said Jeffrey Jones, executive director of Peabody. “By including more talent and honoring the winners in a city that deeply admires the power of stories, we are confident that we will add some tangible excitement to our ceremony. We’re also thrilled to add Doug, Cynthia, Orwa, Russ, Cynthia, Mark, and Andrea – media and storytelling veterans with a wide range of experiences and perspectives – to our stellar Board of Jurors.”

The Peabody Board of Jurors, made up of media industry professionals, media scholars, critics and journalists, is appointed by Jones to a renewable three-year term of service. Lucas has been on the board for the past five years.

“After having the privilege of serving on the Board of Jurors, I’m honored to chair this extraordinary group,” said Wonya Lucas. “Between the incredible stories told this past year and the excellent additions to our Board, I know this will be a fantastic year for the Peabody Awards.”

Other returning Board of Jurors members include Lorraine Ali, Dr. Manuel Betancourt, Hannah Giorgis, Dr. Dana A. Heller, Michael Isip, Dr. Aswin Punathambekar, Nicholas Quah, Kent Rees, Mark Ruffin and
Bonnie Turner.

Peabody Awards are given in the categories of entertainment, documentary, news, podcast/radio, arts, children’s and youth, immersive and interactive media, and public service programming. The program is based at the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Georgia.

Nominees for the 84th Peabody Awards, chosen by the Peabody Board of Jurors in a unanimous vote, will be announced in April with the winners announced in May. The awards ceremony will be produced by Bob Bain Productions.

Best of Variety

Sign up for Variety’s Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.